1/14/2015 (week 11/104)

Ciao Tutti!

Allora, this week was a pretty dang slow one! HOWEVER, it was also a good one. The investigators to mention this week are Roberto, Silvia, and let’s say his name is Fabio, out of privacy! Ok, so Silvia and Roberto are progressing soooooo nicely and it has been incredible to see their countenances light up over the past few days as they have been reading their scriptures and coming to church. Mamma mia it is one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen! I have watched as especially Roberto has gone from a sort of sad demeanor to a glowing and bright one now! He was smiling so big in church too, and he even leaned over and said “Man, I just love shaking people’s hands! This is the greatest!!!” Also, we had a baptism lesson in Gospel Principles and Silvia was sitting next to the Sorelle (sister missionaries) during that class. Anyways, Sorella Tokarski leaned over and said, “Hey would you like to be baptised in a month and a half?” to which Silvia replied, “I would really like that, yes!”

                             WHAT

Anyways, the third investigator, Fabio, is very interested in our message, and you can tell that he has really been searching for the truth. Throughout our recent lesson he just kept interupting and saying things like, “I don’t mean to offend you guys, but I actually believe that………….” and then he would say something that was completely in harmony with the gospel. This guy is gold. The only issue that might be presented is he might or might not have been a member of the mafia, and he did shoot a guy, (didn’t kill him, just shot him). Quindi, vediamo!

One fun thing was that we got to teach a high school religion class about our religion this week, and they were so respectful! I expected the worst, and it was a heck of a lot of fun! We shared about our basic beliefs, the purpose of life, eternal families, and the restoration of the church of Jesus Christ. The teacher asked us to come back too for a second lesson to the class. How did this work out so well? Bwop. ( this is kind of like the non-committal “I dunno or I unno” but for Italian.)

Fun story: for all of those that know me well, you know I have trypophobia. Trype, for those of you who don’t know is cow stomach/intestine. SOOOO, when I went to a member’s house and she served a piece of it in my soup I about had a heart attack. I COULD NOT EVEN. I was seriously wigging out so bad, and it must have been noticeable because after 15 minutes of trying to get Tolman to accept it discretely, she started laughing a bit and said, “You don’t have to eat the trype you know! We don’t care here, haha!” Such a relief. I made a pact with Tolman after that, that I would eat whatever fish he could get onto my plate secretly, if he ate any trype I got onto his. But dang, that texture……… mamma mia.

Spiritual thought: God loves you guys! Always and forever, and there is nothing that you can do to get away from that! You can NEVER go too far, NEVER do too much, and NEVER feel too lost to lose His love. He is ALWAYS there to accept us, and through repentance and baptism on Him we can gain a happiness that we can’t even comprehend. Through Him we can be perfected and infinitely loved. Let Him change you, and you won’t regret it. Alma 19:6

Cheers!
Anziano Squire

image

Piazza Del Duomo

image

Milan

image

Gelatto

image

Church Building

image

Church Building

Leave a Reply

