5/27/2015 (week 30/104)

Buongiorno tutti!

TRANSFERS. I’m staying in Varese as predicted but Anziano Reese is dying tomorrow and I am getting a new Italian companion named Anziano Mastino! We’ll see how far along my Italian really is! I wish to say a word about Anziano Reese for a moment, though. I heard a lot of different things about him, but my lasting impression of him is his focus. He worked hard this transfer and he wasn’t distracted by his time left. I truly wish to be like him at the end of my mission and have that focus. My favorite memory of him was that he baked a cake for me as a surprise on my birthday. WHO DOES THAT? Seriously it made my whole birthday, transfer, and beyond. Reese is a good missionary, and I hope all of you know that now! 

This week was grand though because we got to visit great members, got two new simps (investigators), and remember that Muslim guy from last week? He accepted a baptism date. He can’t read, yet he has his friend read him everything, he is learning too so that he can read the pamphlets and books. He is so incredible and we love him! Also, met a fine Benin City boy from Nigeria who is SUPER excited about the gospel and has already told us he knows it is true. WE LOVE OUR SIMPS. Not to mention, our Sri Lankan is making some good progress! He has a heart of gold!

Not much else new though! Good week beyond all!!! MIRACLESSSS.

Cultural Bit: Some big music out here right now is Tiziano Ferro, Eros, Fedez, and a few others.

Spiritual Bit: I LOVE this quote from Elder Henry B. Eyring:

This story is about his father, the great scientist Henry Eyring, who served on the Bonneville Stake High Council. He was responsible for the welfare farm, which included a field of onions that needed to be weeded. At that time, he was nearly 80 and suffering from painful bone cancer. He assigned himself to do weeding even though the pain was so great that he pulled himself along on his stomach with his elbows. The pain was too great for him to kneel. Yet he smiled, laughed, and talked happily with the others who were there that day weeding that field of onions. I now quote what Elder Eyring said of this incident:

” ‘After all the work was finished and the onions were all weeded, someone [said to] him, “Henry, good heavens! You didn’t pull those weeds, did you? Those weeds were sprayed two days ago, and they were going to die anyway.”


” ‘Dad just roared. He thought that was the funniest thing. He thought it was a great joke on himself. He had worked through the day in the wrong weeds. They had been sprayed and would have died anyway.

” ‘. . . I [asked] him, “Dad how could you make a joke out of that?” . . . 


” ‘He said something to me that I will never forget. . . . He said, “Hal, I wasn’t there for the weeds.’ “

Why do we serve others? Why do we serve the Lord? I think this displays one of the most important lessons that we can learn as humans. We serve because we love Him, and the things we do aren’t necessarily for what we think. They might just happen to strengthen us and might not seem to have a point, but they do. They are a way we show Him we love Him.

I know that I am not out here for the weeds, and the moment I figured that out was the moment I realized what it really meant to love the Lord. Is your eye single to His glory? Single to Him? Or is your focus distracted in the minutiae of life? Keep Him at the core of all you do, and you will guaranteedly become the person with divine nature that you are meant to. You will love Him more, and feel more of His love. 
So, ask yourselves this week, are you here for the weeds?

Con Amore,
Anziano Squire

   Anziano Reese, Sunil, our simpatizzante (investigator) from Sri Lanka, and me.

  Varese

  Varese

Anziano Reese and I, with Anziano Gomez and Mortezezadeh, Sorella Hogan and Russell from Busto Arsizio, and Sorella Warren and Besco from here in Varese.  

 The sign says, “NO DISCOUNTS ON SANDWICHES FOR ITALIANS.” Ha ha  ha 

Leave a Reply

